IPA Press Releases

U.S. Rep. Cravaack Introduces Bipartisan Aviation Reform Legislation

Safe Skies Act of 21012 would enhance aviation safety
Release Date: 4/17/2012 9:01:19 AM

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Representatives Chip Cravaack (R-MN)
and Tim Bishop (D-NY) introduced H.R. 4350, the Safe Skies Act of
2012. Importantly, the bill would ensure that pilot rest requirements
apply to all cargo air operations.

Following the Colgan Air Flight 3407 crash on February 12, 2009, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) developed a rule to address pilot fatigue for passenger flights using extensive scientific study, hearings, and industry feedback.  The rule, which  requires eight hours of rest between shifts, was finalized on January 4th, 2012.  The rule is scheduled go into effect January 14, 2014, but exempts cargo pilots.

"As a former cargo pilot, I understand the importance of a single standard of safety for pilots who share the same airspace and runways with passenger aircraft.  I introduced the Safe Skies Act in order to apply the new, common sense standards for pilot  rest to cargo pilots as well," said Rep. Cravaack.

Specifically, the bill directs the Secretary of Transportation to apply the rule relating to flight crew member duty and rest requirements to all-cargo operations in the same manner as they apply to passenger operations.

"Congressman Cravaack has shown real leadership today by introducing legislation to ensure that the FAA’s recently enacted flight duty and rest requirements for passenger airlines equally apply to all-cargo carriers," said Independent Pilots Association President, Captain Robert Travis.  "The Cravaack-Bishop Safe Skies Act of 2012 will bring the FAA’s final rule back in line with  Congress’s original intent, one level of safety for U.S. aviation."

Representative Cravaack serves on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee – where he is Vice Chair of the Aviation Subcommittee – the Homeland Security Committee, and the Science, Space and Technology Committee. The 8th Congressional District covers 18 counties in Northeast Minnesota.

Back to All Press Releases